Skip to content

Am I sulking? Do I have a bad attitude?

January 3, 2012

I’ve been working on this track today. Right now, I feel like giving on it for now. Eating some chocolate brownie and taking a break.

Like – is this a bad attitude on my part? After all – the only way you get a track done, is by plowing through it, and making yourself do the work.
On the other hand – perhaps I’m ‘overloaded’ being at the same spot, that I lose my objectivity. Need to take a break and come back to it later.
Yeah, that sounds reasonable – I do have other things I can be doing. That’s the good thing about having lots of different projects: you can remain productive when you are taking a break from one of your projects.

Update (one hour later): So I switched into linux, and tried recording desktop audio. Didn’t work due to needing to tell the program which soundcard to use. Have made a post on the ubuntu forums, will wait for that to get back before I proceed.

In the mean time, there are some blogposts I can make, and I have a proposal to write.

Interesting dynamic though. How do the pros deal with this ‘getting sick of it’? It seems that a lot of them do just keep at it everyday. You might argue that once you know what you are doing, then it’s easier to stick at it, but that raises the question – how did they get good in the first place?
This is especially true if the pros we are talking about are the ones that have just got there through self teaching, mucking about.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

