Skip to content

I need to have a plan to make music more effectively.

January 14, 2012

These projects that I’ve set for myself are good. But it feels that when I’m doing them, I’m still banging my head against a wall. I produce something eventually, but I could be doing a lot better. Being more effective, more creative.

I think I need to:

– Watch more tutorial videos, and then actively do what the tutorial tells me.

– Go in with a plan. Always have an idea of what I’m going to be doing next.

I’ve thought of a new project – ‘shamelessly copy a track’. That is – I’ll find a track that I like, of a style that I want to do – and listen to it and pretty much just copy each element. Drums in the same place (or similar), lead loops of the same time, repeating the same time of numbers, build ups in the same place, of the same style etc. This would give me a good idea of how to write a track in each genre.

I also think I’ll try write my plan for a track first. Eg. ‘Create kick and bass, get them to gel. Copy that out to 32 bars, then 8 bars of just bass, then another 32 bars. Create drums to overlay – 16 bar loop. Now add the first lead sound through that first part’. Etc. Just writing this kind of gives me an idea of how much of a clue I don’t have. I’m thinking for this plan, I could also ask for input from the forums I post on.

Also – looking at this post, point #6 sticks out at me. Perhaps for my projects I should focus on just making sounds first (createing the kind of atmospheres and feelings that I want), and then having a separate session to arrange them.

All this said though – I kind of do just feel like diving in. Or ‘I’ll finish what I’m working on first, and then next new track I’ll follow these ideas’.

Watch this space.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

